When you are adding a user on to your company account depending on the plan you have you will be asked to identify what permissions the user will have. On our Team(Accelerate) and Business(Sprint) plans you will be asked to determine the following User Permissions:
User Permissions & how to understand them:
- Administrator: An administrator inside SPOTIO means that they will have the ability to edit/delete/change the following
- Custom Status
- Custom Fields
- They will be able to import an outside CSV file into the company account
- They will be able to share reports (they will be able to export a report into a CSV)
IF YOUR USER ISN’T AN ADMINISTRATOR then you will need to decide if they have the ability to do the following:
- Can Import – This will allow this user to take an outside CSV file and import it into the COMPANY SPOTIO account.
- Can Share Reports – Sharing reports inside SPOTIO means will this user have the ability to export a report. If you grant this right the user will be able to run a report inside the app and then export the data into a CSV file to save. It isn’t limited to just their information. Anyone can export the data
If you are on our Business(Sprint) plan you will have one more user permission to decide:
- Can Manage Users – This will allow this user 3 different areas of management:
- They will be able to add/edit/remove users in the hierarchy on your account
- It will allow users to be able to report to them allowing you to build out the hierarchy
- They will be able to add/edit/delete territories on your territory management section
In addition to User Permissions on our Team and Business Plans you set PIN Permissions for each user you add to your team.
On both the Team & Business Plans you will be asked to select the PIN permissions for the primary team they are on. This is based off who they report to. On the Team plan all users will report to the account admin or the person who created the SPOTIO account. On the Business Plan you will set who they report to and that will be their primary team.
PIN Permissions are divided into two areas:
- Can View; this defines what PINS in the account this user will be able to see on the account
- Can Edit; this defines what PINS in the account this user will be able to edit/update on the account
Under each area you will be given 3 options to choose from:
- Own & Subordinate: this will only give the user access to their own PINs or PINs assigned to anyone that reports to them
- Own, Subordinate & Peer: this will give the user access to their own PINs, PINs assigned to anyone that reports to them or PINs assigned to anyone on the same level as them
- Own, Subordinate, Peer & Manager: this will give the user access to their own PINs, PINs assigned to anyone that reports to them, PINs assigned to anyone on the same level as them OR PINs that are assigned to their manager – this is full access to all PINs on their team
An example for a canvasser who needs to be able to see their PINs and the PINs assigned to the other canvassers on their team BUT they only need to be able to edit their own PINs then you would set them up with the following permissions:
Last part of PIN permissions is going to be specifically for our Business plan and that is going to be where you need to determine what access they will have to other teams on your hierarchy.
Underneath the Primary Team PIN Permission section, you will see Other Teams. This section is still going to be divided into the Can View section and the Can Edit section however instead of picking the level of access you will have to pick the team’s that they will have access too.
For Example: If the canvasser needs to be able to see everything regardless of the team they are on then you would select all the additional names on the under the “Can View” section but if you only wanted them to be able to edit their own PINs then leave the “Can Edit” section empty.
Check out our walk though on PIN Permissions to make sure you understand them here: