We understand that there are turn over that happens even on the best teams. SPOTIO tries to make it very easy for you to immediately inactivate a user in the event that you have a user leave or have to let go of a team member.
When you are on our web app (app.spotio.com) you can go into your settings panel on the left side, enter the users section, and open up user management.
Inactivating a user is a matter of 4 simple steps.
- Click the pencil icon at the end of the row of the name of the user you need to inactivate
- When the edit user pop up comes up, towards the bottom of the screen you will see a drop down menu that will say active. If you click the arrows next to active, you will see the “inactive” option. Select “inactive” to move to the next step *Please note that all users being inactivated MUST have a phone number attached to them to complete the inactivation process*
- The deactivation wizard pop us will now appear on your screen confirming that you want to move forward with inactivating your user. Please note immediately upon completing these steps the user will be inactive and if they are currently logged into SPOTIO they will be booted out of the app. Confirm that you want to complete the inactivation by clicking continue
- After confirming you want to inactivate the user then it will ask you what you want to do with the PIN’s that are assigned to that user. You have 2 options – 1. Leave the pins assigned to the current user or 2. Go ahead and transfer the PINs to a different user using the reassignment wizard.
Once you have completed those 4 steps then that user is now deactivated and your billing for them has instantly been stopped moving forward.
Note about inactivating a user versus changing the name or email:
When you have a user change over on your team SPOTIO always recommends that you go through the inactivation steps to make sure that that user no longer has access to your account. We often get asked why admins should inactivate users versus editing the user profile with new name and email address information. Here are the reasons why SPOTIO recommends inactivating a user versus editing a user:
- Allows for you to still see the full history of the PINS in your account:
- When you inactivated and then add a new user you will be able to always see the previous owners of a pin even if they are no longer on your team. The benefit to this is that you will be able track the number of visits, by whom and then who finally got the deal closed.
- Inactivating IMMEDIATELY removes their account access:
- If you do not go through the immediate process of inactivating the user, then that user will still have access to your account. But, if you properly inactivate the user, that user will be booted from the account immediately. Many times user leave their phones logged in so if you only change over a user’s name & email then they may still have access as their phone is using cached login information.