Admin

User Permissions Overview

Brandy Billiot
Brandy Billiot
  • Updated

*Activity Level Permissions will be released June 24, 2024!

 

Admins and Managers frequently want to expand or limit visibility permissions to their teams in the field. This article will show you how to tailor the user permissions to fit your team's workflow.

Accessing Permission Settings

Admins are able to control permission and visibility settings for all users. 

  1. Click on the Settings gear in the bottom left corner.
  2. Click on Permissions and Security.

You can set permissions to be visible by Territory OR Team. Lead Visibility is set to TERRITORIES by default. These reps will see their records on the map. If you want the records to be displayed by TEAM, reach out to SPOTIO Support and we can get that switched for you.

Sales Rep Permissions

SPOTIO has four different permission settings for sales reps. Those four are:

  1. SPOTIO Standard
  2. Open Visibility
  3. Restricted Visibility
  4. Individual View

Record Visibility 

As Admins, you are able to control permission options for records viewed by your Sales Reps and Managers. You can expand or limit their access based on the permission settings.

SPOTIO Standard - Allow users to see details on every record within their assigned territory or team, including those of other users.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 1.44.32 PM.png

Open Visibility - Allows users to see and edit details on every record within their assigned territory or team.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 1.43.25 PM.png

Restricted Visibility - Allows users to view details of their owned records and the locations of other users' records within their assigned territory or team. They will only be able to work on records they own.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 1.45.31 PM.png

Individual View - Allows users to see ONLY their own records inside and outside of their assigned territory or team.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 1.46.29 PM.png

As you hover over each permission, a box will appear with additional details related to the permission and visibility. Don’t forget to hit the Save button to ensure changes go into effect.

Activity Visibility

In addition to selecting record visibility, you have the ability to independently configure permissions for activities. Adjusting these options will determine how your Sales Reps and Managers view calendar events and activities.

SPOTIO Standard - Allows users to view the activities and calendar events of others users within their assigned territory or team. This level of visibility displays the availability of other users, as well as the specific details of other user’s scheduled activities.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 10.59.27 AM.png

Open Visibility - Allows users to view and edit details of all activities and calendar events of other users within their assigned territory or team. This also means users can complete or log the activity scheduled on a record, regardless of whether the activity is assigned to them.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 11.01.36 AM.png

Note: Selecting the Delete their own activities option will allow reps to delete their scheduled activities. They are unable to delete completed activities and they are unable to delete activities assigned to another user. Deleted activities cannot be restored.

Restricted Visibility - Allows users to see when other team members have scheduled activities; however, it does not show the details of the activity or the record it is assigned to. Instead, the activity will display as "Busy."

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 11.02.54 AM.png

Individual View - Allow users to see ONLY their own activities and calendar events inside and outside of their assigned territory or team.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 11.04.13 AM.png

Once selections have been made, hit Save to confirm.

Other 

Aside from Visibility preferences, there are additional permissions available for your sales reps depending on your account's plan.

  • Allow to edit their profile information - Reps are able to edit their profile pic, first and last name, email and phone number. 
  • Allow to edit own templates and create new ones - Reps are able to create, edit, and delete their own templates. 
  • Allow Reps to create and edit their Autoplays - Reps are able to create, edit, and delete their own Autoplays. 

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.53.30 AM.png

Manager Permissions

Managers have the same permission settings as sales reps, in addition to having the ability to export, oversee territories, oversee teams, and manage users.

To view Manager permissions, be sure to select the Manager option.

Visibility - Managers can see ghost records, white markers indicating the record is owned by another rep, if chosen. By unselecting the box, ghost records will be hidden inside or outside of the Manager's assigned territories. 

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.32.10 AM.png

Territory Visibility Recommendations for Managers

SPOTIO has three different permission settings for managers when it comes to territory permissions. Those three are:

  1. Manager SPOTIO Standard
  2. All Territory Visibility
  3. Assigned Territory Visibility

Manager SPOTIO Standard - Allow managers to see, edit, and add territories globally.

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.38.21 AM.png

All Territory Visibility - Allow Managers to see all territories but only edit or add within their assigned territory.

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.39.55 AM.png

Assigned Territory Visibility - Allow Managers to see and edit only their assigned territory.

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.41.21 AM.png

Teams Visibility Recommendations for Managers

SPOTIO has three different permission settings for manager permissions when it comes to teams. Those three are:

  1. Manager SPOTIO Standard
  2. All Team Visibility
  3. Assigned Team Visibility

Manager SPOTIO Standard  - Allow managers to see, edit, and add territories globally.

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.42.54 AM.png

All Team Visibility - Allow Managers to see all teams but only edit or add within their assigned team(s).

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.44.12 AM.png

Assigned Team Visibility - Allow Managers to see and edit only their assigned team(s).

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.45.11 AM.png

Other

There are additional permission levels that can be modified for those in a Manager role when setting up permissions.

  • Allow managers to create and manage users - Managers will have the ability to add/edit users as long as the Admin gives them permission to do so. Make sure managers understand the billing implications for adding new users.
  • Allow Managers to create and edit their Autoplays - Managers to create, edit, and delete their own Autoplays. 
  • Allow Managers to edit Autoplays owned by Rep's - Managers are able to delete or edit Autoplays owned by Sales Reps.
  • Allow to export records and activities - Managers will be able to export record data in bulk, as well as activity data.

Screenshot 2024-05-10 at 10.48.13 AM.png

Ghost Records and Activities

Ghost records are white pins that indicate a record exists and is owned by another user to avoid duplicate work.

  • Users will know a record exists and won’t see the information within the record.
  • Reps will not be able to edit these Ghost records. They will be able to add their own duplicate record at that location if needed.
  • Information a user will be able to see on a ghost record
    • Address
    • Record Owner
    • Record name (if provided)

Screen Shot 2023-12-07 at 10.38.29 AM.png

Ghost activities refer to scheduled activities within a team where users can see the time slots occupied by these activities but not the specific details or the associated records the activities are assigned to.

This allows users to see availability of other reps while maintaining a level of privacy related to the activity details.

Screenshot 2024-06-07 at 1.48.25 PM.png

FAQs

If record visibility is set to Team, can I assign reps to territories?

Yes, you will be able to assign territories even with team visibility.

Can I allow reps to download reports?

No, only Admins and Managers (if you allow them) can download reports. 

Can Managers add users if they are assigned to a team or territory?

Yes, managers will be able to add users to any team or territory regardless if they are assigned to a team/territory.

Was this article helpful?

Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.